Erbzine.com Homepage
Official Edgar Rice Burroughs Tribute and Weekly Webzine Site
Since 1996 ~ Over 15,000 Web Pages in Archive
Volume 7140

Edgar Rice Burroughs Universe series
 by Win Scott Eckert

The second new novel in the Edgar Rice Burroughs Universe series, Tarzan: Battle for Pellucidar by Win Scott Eckert, was formally announced on ERB’s birthday, 1 September. 

This is also the second in the “Swords of Eternity” super-arc, “a cycle of all-new canonical novels expanding Edgar Rice Burroughs’ worlds of wonder and adventure.”


* The book may be ordered through ERB, Inc., Amazon.com, and other online sites. 
* The novel is available in three editions: trade paperback (retail price of $19.95), regular hardcover with dust jacket ($34.95), and hardcover Collector’s Edition ($54.95).
* The book comes in at 314 pages, with wraparound cover artwork created by Chris Peuler.

The announcement on the ERB, Inc. website summarizes the plot: 

“Tarzan of the Apes, Jason Gridley, and the crew of the airship O-220 return to Pellucidar, the world at the Earth’s core, on a wartime mission to stop the Nazis from obtaining a powerful superweapon. But when the Lord of the Jungle’s murderous adversaries partner with the Mahars – Pellucidar’s routed reptilian overlords – and his adventurous grand-daughter Suzanne goes missing on a reconnaissance mission, can Tarzan prevent the conquest and enslavement of all humanity in both the inner and outer worlds?”

* The book also includes the novelette, “Victory Harben: Clash on Caspak” by Mike Wolfer. From the website: 
“Hurled through time and space from her homeworld of Pellucidar, Victory Harben plummets into peril when she finds herself on the island continent of Caspak, the Land That Time Forgot. Using skills learned from her friend Tarzan and the Stone Age land of her birth, Victory fights for her very survival against savage beasts and uncan-ny Wieroos, the winged humanoid terrors of Caspak. But that is only the beginning of her trials, as a strange visitor arrives with an omen of Victory’s role in the machinations of the Swords of Eternity super-arc!”

* This novelette continues the story begun in Christopher Paul Carey’s “Pellucidar: Dark of the Sun,” the bonus novelette in Matt Betts’ Carson of Venus: Edge of All Worlds.


Dust jacket for both hardcover editions.

Trade paperback

Boards for the Collector’s Edition

The Bonus Novelette by Mike Wolfer

Other Editions (besides print):

• Audio book (above) from Oasis Audio read by John McClain; can be delivered via Audible or on CD
• Ebook (Amazon Kindle)

Trading Cards:
• Collector’s Edition: in addition to the special boards, readers who order the Collector’s Edition
(only available from ERB, Inc.) will get special Tarzan and Jane trading cards (above).
• The Jane trading card comes with the regular hardcover and softcover—
but readers must order these from ERB, Inc. (no trading cards from other outlets)

Map and Videos
• The book comes with a new map of Pellucidar by Mike Wolfer
which covers some familiar territory from the prior Pellucidar books,
as well as newly-introduced locations.

Videos in which we discuss the new book, Tarzan: Battle for Pellucidar,
and the whole “Swords of Eternity” super-arc:
• Announcing Tarzan Battle for Pellucidar with Win Scott Eckert: https://vimeo.com/453517198
• Tarzan, Victory Harben, and the Swords of Eternity Super-Arc:  https://vimeo.com/453514578

Connection To Other ERB Books
Lastly… there are a LOT of references in the book to other ERB books,
and to other stories previously authorized by ERB, Inc.
I look forward to the fans identifying all of them!

CONTACT: winscotteckert@gmail.com

 Win Scott Eckert Biography

Win Scott Eckert is a novelist, editor, essayist, and writer of short fiction. He is steeped in the works of famed science fiction writer Philip José Farmer, particularly Farmer’s shared universe literary-crossover Wold Newton cycle and the Lord Grandrith/Doc Caliban series. He has a deep interest in studying fictional biographies, creating detailed chronologies of fictional characters and universes, and exploring the metafictional connections between seemingly unrelated works, which resulted in Myths for the Modern Age: Philip José Farmer’s Wold Newton Universe (MonkeyBrain Books), a 2007 Locus Awards finalist, and the critically acclaimed, encyclopedic Crossovers: A Secret Chronology of the World 1 & 2 (Black Coat Press, 2010).

Eckert is also an expert on many of the authors and characters who inspired Farmer—such as Edgar Rice Burroughs (Tarzan, Pellucidar, John Carter of Mars, and more), the pulp heroes (Doc Savage, The Shadow, The Avenger, etc.), Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes and Professor Moriarty, Ian Fleming’s James Bond, and Sax Rohmer’s Denis Nayland Smith, Fu Manchu, and Sumuru—as well as other heroic characters whose adventures Eckert has chronicled, including Zorro, Sexton Blake, the Phantom, Honey West, the Scarlet Pimpernel, the Domino Lady, and the Green Hornet, all of which can be found in the pages of anthologies from Moonstone Books, Meteor House (The Worlds of Philip José Farmer), Black Coat Press (Tales of the Shadowmen), and Titan Books (Tales of the Wold Newton Universe).

Eckert also served as an expert consultant on crossovers involving characters from pulp fiction and Victorian literature in a dispute regarding alleged similarities between the feature film adaptation of The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen and an earlier screenplay entitled Cast of Characters.

An accomplished essayist, Eckert contributed a new foreword to the 2006 edition of Farmer’s well-known fictional biography, Tarzan Alive: A Definitive Biography of Lord Greystoke (University of Nebraska/Bison Books), as well as several forewords and afterwords to Titan Books’ reissues of Farmer’s novels. As Executive Editor for Meteor House, he played a key role in reissuing definitive editions of Farmer’s fictional biography Doc Savage: His Apocalyptic Life (2013), and Farmer’s authorized Burroughs novel, Tarzan and the Dark Heart of Time (2018).

Eckert is the authorized legacy author of Farmer’s Patricia Wildman series (The Evil in Pemberley House, The Scarlet Jaguar), as well as the coauthor with Farmer of the upcoming fourth novel in Farmer’s Secrets of the Nine series, The Monster on Hold, furthering the titanic saga of Doc Caliban’s battle against the dark manipulators who hold the secret to eternal life, the Nine. His latest releases are an authorized Avenger book from Moonstone, Hunt the Avenger (2019), and an authorized novel in the new Edgar Rice Burroughs Universe, Tarzan: Battle for Pellucidar (2020).

Find him online at www.winscotteckert.com and @woldnewton (Twitter).

Featrued in our ERB ALIVE Site

Click for full-size promo splash bar

Visit our thousands of other sites at:
ERB Text, ERB Images and Tarzan® are ©Edgar Rice Burroughs, Inc.- All Rights Reserved.
All Original Work ©1996-2020 by Bill Hillman and/or Contributing Authors/Owners
No part of this web site may be reproduced without permission from the respective owners.